Updated September 2026 · 7 clinics ranked

Online TRT That Takes Insurance (2026): What Actually Works

None of the major national online TRT clinics bill insurance. Here's how to use insurance or pre-tax funds for TRT anyway.

The 7 best, ranked

  1. #1 · Online TRT That Takes Insurance

    honehealth.com

    8.2

    /10

    Hone Health

    Best overallhonehealth.com · Verified Sep 2026

    Why it’s here: The widest range of treatment options, an itemized price breakdown and physician-led care.

    States
    Multi-state; check Hone's state availability page
    Provider
    Physicians (Broad Health P.A. and affiliates)
    Insurance
    No (HSA/FSA accepted)
    Labs included
    Yes, lab testing is part of the membership fee
    • Pro: Publishes an itemized membership breakdown, including a $78/year lab component
    • Pro: Widest HRT menu in this ranking: injections, cream, troches, enclomiphene, clomiphene

    8.2/10

    Overall

    Editorial 8.2 · Users n/a

    No Trustpilot reviews yet

  2. fountain.net

    8.1

    /10

    Fountain TRT

    fountain.net · Verified Sep 2026

    Why it’s here: Best for one flat price with labs included. One all-inclusive fee covers visits, labs, medication and support.

    States
    About 25 states (per Fountain FAQ)
    Provider
    Physician-led (board-certified urologist)
    Insurance
    No
    Labs included
    Yes, 14+ biomarkers monitored
    • Pro: One all-inclusive fee covers visits, labs, medication and support
    • Pro: Same price for injections, cream or enclomiphene

    8.1/10

    Overall

    Editorial 8.1 · Users n/a

    No Trustpilot reviews yet

  3. henrymeds.com

    7.8

    /10

    Henry Meds

    henrymeds.com · Verified Sep 2026

    Why it’s here: Best for budget all-inclusive TRT. $129/month includes provider visits, labs, medication, supplies and shipping.

    States
    Not published; check at sign-up
    Provider
    Licensed healthcare providers (type not stated)
    Insurance
    No
    Labs included
    Yes, at Quest Diagnostics
    • Pro: $129/month includes provider visits, labs, medication, supplies and shipping
    • Pro: Anastrozole included at no extra cost when prescribed

    7.8/10

    Overall

    Editorial 7.8 · Users n/a

    No Trustpilot reviews yet

  4. defymedical.com

    7.8

    /10

    Defy Medical

    defymedical.com · Verified Sep 2026

    Why it’s here: Best for complex cases and peptide therapy. No subscription or contract; you pay only for services you use.

    States
    Most US states (per Defy)
    Provider
    Physician-directed (Dr. Justin Saya, medical director)
    Insurance
    No
    Labs included
    Yes, in its cost estimate (billed per service)
    • Pro: No subscription or contract; you pay only for services you use
    • Pro: Broad menu: TRT, peptide therapy, ED treatment, weight loss

    7.8/10

    Overall

    Editorial 7.8 · Users n/a

    No Trustpilot reviews yet

  5. maximustribe.com

    7.5

    /10

    Maximus

    maximustribe.com · Verified Sep 2026

    Why it’s here: Best for oral and needle-free options. Four protocols: injections, cream, oral testosterone, enclomiphene.

    States
    Not published; check at sign-up
    Provider
    Board-certified physicians
    Insurance
    No (FSA/HSA receipts provided)
    Labs included
    At-home labs offered; confirm what your plan includes
    • Pro: Four protocols: injections, cream, oral testosterone, enclomiphene
    • Pro: Board-certified physicians; care-team messaging included

    7.5/10

    Overall

    Editorial 7.5 · Users n/a

    No Trustpilot reviews yet

  6. trtnation.com

    6.7

    /10

    TRT Nation

    trtnation.com · Verified Sep 2026

    Why it’s here: Best for lowest sticker price for injections. $99.99/month covers medication, supplies, shipping and consults.

    States
    All except AL, AK, AR, MO, HI
    Provider
    Licensed physicians (per TRT Nation)
    Insurance
    Not mentioned; cash-pay
    Labs included
    No, $129 lab fee (outside labs accepted)
    • Pro: $99.99/month covers medication, supplies, shipping and consults
    • Pro: Serves every state except AL, AK, AR, MO and HI

    6.7/10

    Overall

    Editorial 6.7 · Users n/a

    No Trustpilot reviews yet

  7. hims.com

    6.6

    /10

    Hims

    hims.com · Verified Sep 2026

    Why it’s here: Best for men who want to avoid TRT for now. Large national telehealth platform with wide state coverage.

    States
    Most states (Hims says not all 50 for this Rx)
    Provider
    Licensed healthcare providers
    Insurance
    No (no HSA/FSA)
    Labs included
    Follow-up labs yes; initial test $94 (credited)
    • Pro: Large national telehealth platform with wide state coverage
    • Pro: At-home lab kit; follow-up labs included in plans

    6.6/10

    Overall

    Editorial 6.6 · Users n/a

    No Trustpilot reviews yet

None of the seven national online TRT clinics we rank bill health insurance as of September 2026. Your best options are (1) an in-network doctor who treats low testosterone by telehealth, (2) a regional telehealth clinic that bills insurance in your state, or (3) a cash-pay clinic that accepts HSA/FSA funds, such as Hone Health or Maximus.

We checked each clinic's insurance policy on its own site on September 25, 2026. Because this is a financial and health decision, confirm coverage directly with your insurer.

Insurance and HSA/FSA at major online TRT clinics

ClinicBills insurance?HSA/FSASource
Hone HealthNoYes, accepts HSA/FSA cardsHone
MaximusNo (direct-pay)Receipts for FSA/HSA reimbursementMaximus
Fountain TRTNoNot statedFountain
Henry MedsNoNot statedHenry
Defy MedicalNo (concierge)Not statedDefy
TRT NationNot mentionedNot statedTRT Nation
HimsNoNoHims

"Not stated" means we couldn't find the policy on the clinic's site. Ask the clinic before paying.

Why online TRT clinics skip insurance

The cash-pay clinics say it themselves. Defy says concierge clinics "don't accept insurance but instead offer care at fixed, reliable pricing." Hone says its treatment plans and medication are "comparable to the co-pays offered by most insurance providers." Fountain's older homepage lists "insurance nightmares" (deductibles, copays and denials) as the problem it avoids.

There's also a medication reason. Many online clinics dispense compounded medications, like enclomiphene, which insurers generally don't cover, and which are not FDA-approved (FDA). Even branded products can be cash-only: Hims describes Kyzatrex as a cash-pay medication not covered by insurance, with an average retail price of about $400 to $1,100 a month (Hims).

Option 1: Your own in-network doctor, by telehealth

For most insured men, the cheapest route is an in-network primary care physician, urologist or endocrinologist, many of whom offer video visits. You'd pay your plan's copays for visits, your lab coverage for blood work, and your pharmacy benefit for the medication.

The trade-off is convenience and, sometimes, stricter criteria. Expect your doctor to follow the Endocrine Society standard: symptoms plus consistently low testosterone on at least two early-morning, fasting tests (Endocrine Society). That's a good thing, not a hurdle: it's how low testosterone is properly diagnosed.

Option 2: Regional telehealth clinics that bill insurance

Some smaller telehealth clinics bill insurance within the states where they're licensed. One example is Rise Men's Health's eTRT program, which lists Aetna, Baylor, BCBS, Cigna and United, and says typical copays run $15 to $30 per visit, but is currently available only in Texas, with a waitlist for other states (Rise Men's Health). Rise notes that most insurers require two testosterone levels below the lab reference range, drawn before 10am. We don't rank Rise because of its single-state coverage, and we haven't verified its prices beyond its own page.

To find a similar clinic in your state, search your insurer's provider directory for men's health, urology or endocrinology practices offering telehealth.

Option 3: Cash-pay clinic plus HSA/FSA

If you have a Health Savings Account or Flexible Spending Account, you can pay for eligible medical care with pre-tax money:

  • Hone Health accepts HSA/FSA cards directly. Membership is $135/month plus medication.
  • Maximus will generate a PDF receipt for reimbursement. Plans start at $99.99/month.

Other clinics may also produce receipts on request; ask. HSA/FSA eligibility rules are set by the IRS and your plan administrator, so confirm before you pay.

Option 4: Pick the lowest cash price

If insurance isn't an option, the lowest all-in cash price we found is Henry Meds at $129/month with labs, visits and medication included. TRT Nation is $99.99/month but labs cost $129 extra. See cheapest online TRT and TRT clinic cost in 2026.

Insured vs cash-pay: a quick cost check

To decide which route is cheaper for you, add up a year of each:

Cost itemIn-network doctor (insurance)Cash-pay online clinic
VisitsYour copays × number of visitsIncluded (Fountain, Henry) or in membership (Hone)
LabsYour lab coverage (deductible/coinsurance)Included, or e.g. $129 (TRT Nation)
MedicationYour pharmacy copay for the prescribed productIncluded (Fountain, Henry) or from $28/mo (Hone)
Typical totalDepends on your plan~$1,329–$2,587/yr by our arithmetic

If you have a high deductible you haven't met, a cash-pay clinic can be competitive. If your plan covers testosterone with low copays, an in-network doctor is likely cheaper. Pricing detail by clinic: TRT clinic cost in 2026.

Does Medicare or Medicaid cover online TRT clinics?

Not at the seven clinics we rank, since none of them bill any insurance. Coverage of testosterone through Medicare Part D or Medicaid depends on your specific plan and its formulary, so check with your plan directly and look for an in-network prescriber who offers telehealth visits.

What to bring to an in-network appointment

If you've already had labs through an online clinic, bring the results. Guidelines call for confirming low testosterone with repeat early-morning, fasting tests, so your doctor may want to repeat them, but prior results help show a pattern (Endocrine Society).

Tips for getting TRT covered

  1. Get your labs right. Morning, fasting tests, repeated, are what guidelines and insurers look for.
  2. Ask whether your plan requires prior authorization before it will cover testosterone.
  3. Ask which formulations your plan covers (injections, gels, oral) before your visit, so your doctor can prescribe one that's on your formulary.
  4. Keep records. If you start with a cash-pay clinic, keep your lab results; an in-network doctor may accept recent labs.

The bottom line

If insurance coverage matters, start with your insurer's directory rather than a national online clinic. If convenience matters more, the cash-pay clinics are transparent enough to budget for, and HSA/FSA funds can soften the cost.

Safety note

Insurance or not, TRT is a prescription treatment for diagnosed low testosterone. It can raise blood pressure (FDA class-wide warning), raise red blood cell counts, reduce fertility and worsen sleep apnea (FDA, Mayo Clinic). See TRT side effects and risks and how online TRT works.

Back to the full ranking of online TRT clinics.

FAQ

Frequently asked questions

Is there an online TRT clinic that takes insurance?

None of the seven national online TRT clinics we rank bill insurance as of September 2026. Some regional telehealth clinics do; for example, Rise Men's Health lists Aetna, BCBS, Cigna and United but serves only Texas.

Can I use HSA or FSA for online TRT?

Often, yes. Hone Health accepts HSA/FSA cards, and Maximus provides receipts you can submit for FSA/HSA reimbursement. Hims says it doesn't accept HSA/FSA.

Will insurance cover TRT?

Coverage depends on your plan. Insurers typically want documented low testosterone on lab tests; Rise Men's Health, for example, says most insurers require two testosterone levels below the reference range drawn before 10am.

What's the cheapest way to get TRT with insurance?

Usually through an in-network primary care doctor, urologist or endocrinologist, many of whom offer telehealth visits. Your costs are then your plan's copays and pharmacy benefit.

Hone Health

#18.2/10

Visit Hone Health